## **COLORADO COUNCIL OF MEDICAL LIBRARIANS**

Friday February 18, 2011 General Membership Meeting Approved Minutes

Location: The Children's Hospital Host: Marie St. Pierre

**Education Program** – "Communicating Health: Cultural Competency and Health Information Literacy Outreach" Presented by Dana Abbey, MLS, Consumer Health Coordinator, National Network of Libraries of Medicine, MidContinental Region

**Main program** – "Rhetoric and Trust in Biomedical Life: Competing Characters in a Breast Cancer Controversy"

Presented by Dr. Lisa Keränen, PhD, Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Department of Communication, University of Colorado Denver

## **Business meeting**

- Call to order 10:45 a.m. President-Elect Deb Weaver presided.
   21 members present
- Introduction of guests

   Ann Jessen, National Jewish Health
- Approval of the November 19, 2010 Meeting Minutes
   Melissa DeSantis moved, Debra Taylor seconded to approve. Motion carried.
- Treasurer's Report
  - Deb Weaver presented on behalf of Lynda Lillwitz. Melissa Kovac moved, Debra Taylor seconded to approve. Motion carried.
- President-Elect's Report (Deb Weaver)
  - Deb Weaver thanked Marie St. Pierre for hosting the meeting and Dana Abbey and Dr. Lisa Keränen for their presentations. The next meeting (annual meeting) will be held at HSL with Susan Brandes (Exempla librarian) and Terri Casterton (from Clinical Decision Support at Exempla Hospitals) on the program.
- Committee & SIG Reports
  - Advocacy no report
  - Bylaws Lilian Hoffecker

• Distributed handout on potential bylaws changes to be voted on at the annual meeting (see below)

Bylaws February 18, 2011 General Membership meeting

Discussion items:

- Fiscal year
  - o Currently April 1 March 31
  - Change to July 1 June 30<sup>th</sup>
- Committees
  - Standing Committees they will be specifically defined in the bylaws
    - Bylaws (must be formed- currently there is no mention of a Bylaws Committee in the bylaws) - committee composition will not be specified
    - Membership committee composition will not be specified
    - Nominating committee composition will not be specified
    - Education committee composition will not be specified
  - Other Committees [or Ad-Hoc Committees what do we want to call them?] they will <u>not</u> be specifically defined in the bylaws
    - Awards (including Marla Graber Award),
    - Internet,
    - Library Cooperation
  - Executive Committee composition = Officers + Chairs Standing Committees +Chairs of Other Committees? If this is correct, there will be 11 members.
- Electronic Voting
  - Current –for certain decisions, members must be physically present at the meeting to vote. These occasions include:
    - Voting by the General Membership to change the Bylaws [see below on Amendments to the Bylaws]
    - Voting by the Executive Committee to have the Authority to Incur Expenses
  - Change to allow electronic voting, for example via email or an online survey.
  - Quorum
    - *Current 12*
    - Change to 10? However, if we allow for electronic voting, then we may not have to worry too much about making quorum
- Amendments to the Bylaws
  - Current once a year, at the annual meeting
  - Allow for amendments to be made more frequently. We must define how frequent.
- Education Marie St. Pierre
  - Thanked Dana for her presentation at this meeting
- Internet Debra Miller
  - Needs content from committees; will be sending requests to committee chairs
  - Will work on downloadable logo

- Library Cooperation Sara Katsh
  - The committee continues to work on the Resource Sharing Information pages on the CCML website.
- o Marla Graber Award
  - No report
- o Membership Debra Taylor & Melissa Kovac
  - Paul Blomquist will send renewal notices by e-mail.
  - Membership is down; committee members will follow up with lapsed members.
  - Contacted faculty at Emporia and DU; no presentation dates yet
- Nominating Shandra Protzko
  - Shandra distributed hard copies of the following slate, with bios: CCML Elections 2011-2012 RE: Slate of Nominees for Office Positions The Nominating Committee makes a motion that the following names for the 2011-2012 slate of CCML Officers be accepted by the general membership at the February 18, 2011 meeting. Secretary: Julie Silverman President-Elect: Dana Abbey Treasurer: Erin Palazzolo
  - Deb Weaver asked for nominations from the floor; there being none, Lynne Fox moved, Lilian Hoffecker seconded, to close nominations and vote on the slate. The slate was approved as presented.
- Colleague Connection no report
  - Discussion of representation of CCML by an officer
- Unfinished Business none
- New Business: None
- Announcements

Ellen Graves announced Joyce Condon's retirement from Exempla St Joseph Hospital. Joyce's last day will be April 8. The position (32-hours/week with full benefits) has been posted. Margaret Bandy sent a link to the CCML list for the corporate website for applications.

• Lynne Fox moved to adjourn; meeting adjourned at 11:10 AM.