Colorado Council of Medical Librarians Logo




The Library Champion Award is given in recognition of exemplary support of a Colorado health science library and its staff.

The Awards Committee adjudicates this award. Timeline: Call for submissions Mid-August; Deadline for submissions generally in October; winner announced at the November Membership Meeting; Award presented at the recipients organization in January.

2021 Awardees

  • Fran Ricker, PhD, RN, Dean of Platt College

2019 Awardees

  • Janet Craighead, Research Nurse Scientist, UCHealth
  • Faith Cantrell, Coordinator, Nurse Residency Program, UCHealth

2018 Awardees

    • Dr. Alwin Steinmann, VP and Chief of Academic Affairs at Saint Joseph Hospital
    • Rae Marshall is the unit educator for preop, PACU, and the GI lab at Porter.
    • UCHealth’s Nurse Residency and UExcel programs in Windsor.  Current members of the Council are Gwen Andersen, Maude Becker, Peggy Budai, Faith Cantrell, Janet Craighead, Ric Detlefsen, Kathy Diener, Robyn Gustafson, Lorrie Henecke, Kathleen Jablonski, Barb Ochsner, Jennifer Petrilli, Melanie Roberts, Carla Thorson, Jessie Willard, and Kim Woods-McCormick

    2016 Awardees

    • Suzanne Brandenburg, MD Vice Chair for Education and Director of Residency program, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
    • Dr. Julie Basler, VP of Academic Affairs, Platt College and Dr. Hollie Caldwell, Dean of Nursing, Platt College

    2012 - Admiral Zachary Taylor

    2007 - Barb Jahn

    • Vice President of Operations at Exempla Saint Joseph Hospital in Denver

    2006 - Tracey Lynn Samdahl

    • Senior Director Shaw Regional Cancer Center, Vail Valley Medical Center

    Fran Ricker, PhD, RN, Dean, Platt College - 2021 Library Champion Award 

    On January 25, 2022, Fran Ricker, PhD, RN, the current Dean at Platt College was awarded the Library Champion Award for 2021 for exemplary support of a Colorado health science library and its staff. Laura Cullerton, Information Specialist at Platt College nominated Dr. Ricker. Due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic the presentation was virtual. The CCML Awards Committee consists of Jerry Carlson, Laura Cullerton, Kate Elder and Chair: Elizabeth Thoms Charles. Find a photo of the award below!

    photo of CCML Library Champion Award, 2021

    UCHealth MCR/PVH Evidence-Based Practice Council - 2019 Library Champion Award

    (L to R) Janet Craighead, Research Nurse Scientist, UCHealth; Faith Cantrell, Coordinator, Nurse Residency Program, UCHealth; Jerry Carlson, Medical Librarian, UCHealth (nominator); Laura Cullerton, Information Specialist, Platt College (CCML Awards Committee Chair)

    Rae Marshall - 2018 Library Champion Award

    Rae Marshall, (right in photo) Pre-Op/PACU Educator, received the 2018 Library Champion Award presented by CCML.  She was nominated by Melissa Kovac, (left on photo) Medical Librarian at Porter Adventist Hospital.  

    Dr. Steinmann - 2018 Library Champion Award, nominated by Karen Wells of Saint Joseph Hospital


    Colorado Council of Medical Librarians
    C/O CU Strauss Health Sciences Library, 12950 E. Montview Blvd. A003, Aurora, CO 80045     Email CCML   |

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software